top of page

Focus on: Niacinamide

Today marks the first in a monthly series I’m starting on my blog, focusing on a single ingredient, how I’ve liked or disliked it on my sensitive skin and products I would recommend. I thought I would start this as I've found with sensitive skin, I can sometimes have quite adverse reactions to commonly loved ingredients or products. It could also be a fun way to bring together my product reviews and keep track of my ever-growing wishlist.


My very first ingredient spotlight will be on niacinamide, a fantastic all-rounder that could probably do with a bit more attention. In a time where everything is a bit stressful and skin can be problematic, niacinamide should be included in everyone's routine.


Ingredient in focus April: Niacinamide


I feel like niacinamide is only now getting the recognition it truly deserves; everyone can reap the benefits as it’s quite the multi-tasker. Here’s just some of the ways in which it can help your skin:

- Strengthen lipid barrier

- Minimise redness

- Regulate oil

- Protect against sun damage

- Treat hyper-pigmentation

- Treat acne



What’s even better is that there’s actually substantial medical research into using niacinamide topically for skin benefits. There are other people more qualified than me that have written much better articles such as Paula's Choice and Healthline.


However, I feel like I can confidently share some of my favourite products that I’ve used and how I’ve incorporated them into my routine. For me, I’ve most noticed that consistent use of niacinamide has reduced the severity and frequency of breakouts. This is important for me as using drying masks or treatments can aggravate my eczema, so I take an approach of prevention rather than treatment where possible.


Products I've used and enjoy:

Very reasonably priced serum that I have purchased a few times now. I use this everyday and enjoy how light it feels. Quite a runny formula that sinks in quickly.


Full disclosure - I used this before the apparent reformulation and upgrade to larger bottles. However based on the bottle I used, I would buy this formulation again. It's a slightly thicker formula than the TO, feeling a little bit sticky to apply but it sinks in well and prepares the skin well for the next product.


Niacinamide is only one of the fantastic ingredients in this mask, which I like to use best as an overnight mask, applying a thicker layer around my eyes. Sinks in well and provides a good boost of calming hydration - it does indeed provide a great deal of relief both in-flight and after.



This is a holy grail sheet mask for me and if they bottled the serum I would buy it by the bucketload. There is more than enough serum in one sachet of these for two applications, so I like to use it in the evening and again the following morning. I always find this noticeably calming and brightening my skin, redness is lessened and overall skin tone appears more even.


Niacinamide is one of many fantastic ingredients in this sensitive skin moisturiser. I highly recommend having it on hand for when your skin needs to be nourished and skin barrier rebuilt. It soothes the skin and is packed full of things you want, like niacinamide and ceramides, but with no fragrances or fillers.


I apply this lightly across my face in the morning after showering and have noticed a difference in the brightness of my skin for the day. I have not found this combination of niacinamide and vitamin c to be irritating, but know that it can for some people. Disclosure: this toner was gifted but all thoughts are my own - especially when it comes to ingredients like this, it's important to note when they do or don't irritate my skin.


Products I haven't used but would really like to:


Is niacinamide bad for eczema?

In my experience, niacinamide is not in the least bit bad for my eczema, quite the opposite in fact. As I mentioned before, I've found that I quite like it for preventing and managing pimples instead of turning to drying ingredients that can really aggravate my skin. Topical application of niacinamide can be shown to have anti-inflammatory properties for skin conditions, such as acne and rosacea. I'm no doctor or dermatologist, but my general rule when it comes to new ingredients or products, even if they're considered calming is to do so when I'm confident in my skin barrier strength.



Ingredients to avoid using with niacinamide?

For this one I've gone to people more qualified than me and the most frequent combination that causes concern is niacinamide and vitamin C. There are arguments for and against this combination, so I will link a few articles and you can make up your own mind. Paula's Choice points out how outdated the information is and that it applies to certain forms of less stable niacinamide and vitamin c, not representative of modern formulations. Instyle quotes Dr. Marchbein on how applying the two together can cancel out the efficacy of each. Again, I would simply exercise caution here and if your niacinamide and vitamin c are in two products, apply separately unless you feel confident to do otherwise. I personally apply niacinamide at night and vitamin c in the morning anyway, since that is my preference and avoids the combination entirely. Some products, such as the Summer Fridays CC Me serum or Good Molecules Niacinamide Brightening Toner contain both vitamin c and niacinamide in the same product, so you can have confidence in the formulation of each component to work together.


So, that's my two bobs worth on niacinamide! I think it's a fantastic ingredient, the effects of which can be varied and for me, have compounded with consistent use. I now notice a real difference in the frequency of breakouts, especially if I skip using niacinamide for a few days.


Let me know how you liked this piece! I would love to know if you have more questions around niacinamide or even reviews on some of my wishlist products.


Morgan xx


*All links included for products are not affiliates or sponsored in anyway, just linking where I have purchased or found these products for sale in Australia. The Good Molecules product I have been trialling was gifted with no obligation to post or share.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

HELLO CHRISTMAS

Hello lovely internet people - it's that time of year again! I think it's an understatement to say that there is extra excitement surrounding the holiday season this year and I'm absolutely on board.

WFH: Workout From Home

Workout from home! Working out is a big part of my daily mental health management and it obviously helps keep the rest of me healthy too. I like to use a variety of resources and switch it up because

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page